► Stay Connected


U.S. C3E Ambassadors Meet for 4th Annual Retreat

Thursday, August 13, 2015

U.S. C3E Ambassadors Meet for 4th Annual Retreat

Current C3E Ambassadors assembled at MIT’s Endicott House in July 2015 for the fourth annual summer retreat.

The Clean Energy Ministerial’s Clean Energy Education & Empowerment (C3E) initiative, in collaboration with the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT), recently hosted a retreat for the U.S.-based C3E Ambassadors. The Ambassadors are a group of 37 distinguished executive-level leaders in clean energy who work to advance women’s participation and leadership in the sector. Held at MIT’s historic Endicott House outside of Boston, MA, the retreat focused on strategic priorities for the U.S. C3E program and nominations for the 2015 C3E Awards.

Now in its fourth year, the C3E Awards recognize mid-career women for outstanding leadership and achievement in driving clean energy progress in various sectors. The C3E Awards provide critical recognition, supporting women’s career advancement and inspiring women of all ages to contribute to the clean energy field. Winners in eight categories will be announced at the 2015 C3E Women in Clean Energy Symposium, to be held in Cambridge, MA, in November. Each winner will receive a cash prize of $8,000 to advance her specific work or support the broader contributions of women in clean energy. A lifetime achievement award winner will also be named.

The 2015 C3E Symposium will feature prominent speakers and panel discussions to provide women in clean energy with a range of viewpoints and insights on key challenges and opportunities in clean energy. Members of the international C3E Ambassador Corps will also be invited to the Symposium. To date, China, Finland, Japan, Mexico, the United Kingdom, and the United Arab Emirates have named C3E Ambassadors, in addition to those from the United States. The Symposium will also provide an opportunity for networking across the sector, helping to build a sustained national and international community of professionals dedicated to advancing the careers and goals of women in clean energy.

C3E is an initiative of the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM) that aims to advance gender equality in the clean energy sector. Launched as a network of national-level actions, C3E is advancing women’s leadership in clean energy globally through the international C3E Ambassador Corps and the online community forum C3E encourages other CEM partner governments to name C3E Ambassadors. The U.S. C3E program is a collaboration between the U.S. Department of Energy and the MIT Energy Initiative.

You can connect with C3E on LinkedIn and twitter (@C3E_EnergyWomen). For more information about the C3E awards and symposium, visit

Current U.S. C3E Ambassadors

  • Martha Broad, Executive Director, MIT Energy Initiative
  • Marilyn Brown, Professor, School of Public Policy, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Kateri Callahan, President, Alliance to Save Energy
  • Amy Chiang, Head of Energy and the Environment, Global Government Relations, Honeywell
  • Karen Conover, Vice President and Senior Technical Advisor, DNV GL
  • Karina Edmonds, Executive Director, Institute Corporate Relations, California Institute of Technology
  • Christine Eibs Singer, Senior Advisor, Sustainable Energy for All Initiative, United Nations
  • Christine Ervin, President, Christine Ervin/Company
  • Amy Francetic, Chief Executive Officer, Clean Energy Trust
  • Lisa Frantzis, Senior Vice President, Strategy and Corporate Development, Advanced Energy Economy
  • Deb Frodl, Global Executive Director, Ecomagination, General Electric
  • Bobi Garrett, Deputy Laboratory Director, Strategic Programs and Partnerships, National Renewable Energy Laboratory
  • Dian M. Grueneich, Senior Research Scholar, Precourt Energy Efficiency Center, Stanford University
  • Katherine Hamilton, Co-Founder and Principal, 38 North Solutions
  • Colette Honorable, Commissioner, Federal Energy Regulatory Commission
  • Britt Ide, President, Ide Law and Strategy, PLLC
  • Kristina Johnson, Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Cube Hydro
  • Barbara Kates-Garnick, Senior Fellow, Center for International Environment and Resources Policy, Fletcher School, Tufts University
  • Melanie Kenderdine, Director, Office of Energy Policy and Systems Analysis, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Nancy Kete, Managing Director, Rockefeller Foundation
  • Constance Lau, President and Chief Executive Officer, Hawaiian Electric Industries, Inc.
  • Robert Marlay, U.S. Director, U.S.-China Clean Energy Research Center, U.S. Department of Energy
  • Rose McKinney-James, Managing Principal, Energy Works; President, McKinney-James & Associates
  • Sydney McNiff Johnson, Principal, Global Energy Practice, Dentons
  • Ellen Morris, Founding Partner and President, Embark Energy
  • Susan Petty, President and Chief Technology Officer, Altarock Energy, Inc.
  • Nancy Pfund, Founder and Managing Partner, DBL Investors
  • Maxine Savitz, Vice-Chair, President’s Council of Advisors on Science and Technology 
  • Kim Saylors-Laster, Founding Partner, The Barnabas Team
  • Mary Anne Sullivan, Partner and Practice Area Leader, Energy Regulatory Practice, Hogan Lovells US LLP
  • Dymphna van der Lans, Chief Executive Officer, Clinton Climate Initiative
  • Richenda Van Leeuwen, Executive Director for Energy Access, Energy and Climate Division, United Nations Foundation
  • Carter Wall, Managing Director, Franklin Beach Energy
  • Alla Weinstein, Former Chief Executive Officer and President, Principle Power
  • Seth R. Weissman, Executive Vice President, General Counsel, and Secretary, SolarCity Corporation
  • Maja Wessels, Executive Vice President, Global Public Affairs, First Solar
  • Joan Wills, Chief Engineer and Program Leader, Cummins, Inc.