Skip to main content

2019 Energy Management Leadership Awards


What is the Energy Management Leadership Awards?


The Energy Management Leadership Awards recognize organizations using an ISO 50001-certified energy management system to save energy and reduce costs. The CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards raise global awareness of the benefits of energy management, helping accelerate broad implementation of these proven systems to help meet organizational, national and global energy and climate goals.


What is the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM) Energy Management Working Group (EMWG)?


View the EMWG homepage for more information, or learn more about the Clean Energy Ministerial.  


Who should apply?


View Who Should Apply in the Official Rules


How do I apply?


View How to Apply in the Official Rules


How are the winners selected? 


View Selection Process in the Official Rules 


When and how will the winners be announced? 


View Global Recognition and Award Notification in the Official Rules 


We have a case study already written about our ISO 50001 experiences and results. Can we submit that?


All entries for the Energy Management Leadership Awards should be submitted using the Case Study Template. Existing content can be pasted into this template, though entrants should review the Case Study Topics and Evaluation Criteria and ensure you have addressed the topics to be scored during the selection process.


Must I address every item listed in the CEM case study template?


To be competitive for the CEM Award of Excellence and any applicable national awards, entrants should review the Case Study Topics and Evaluation Criteria and ensure the topics to be scored during the selection process have been addressed. 


Can I change the subheadings in my case study or must I use what is in the template?


We encourage organizations to use the headings in the case study template. Organizations are welcome to additional subheadings. 


What is the maximum page or word limit in submittal of a case study? 


Submitted case studies must be 4–6 pages in length; shorter or longer case studies will not be accepted. 


What if my organization has multiple sites certified to ISO 50001? Should we submit a case study for each site or can we integrate our sites’ experiences into one case study?


An organization may submit either a single entry that collectively describes ISO 50001 implementation and results for multiple sites or separate entries for its different ISO 50001 certified sites. We encourage you to choose whichever path represents your unique story. Please see additional guidance below. 


The CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards program has received entries that highlight a variety of approaches to achieve ISO 50001 certification. We are hearing exciting stories from the field. For example, we’ve heard of companies with robust corporate energy management strategies that establish an EnMS at a corporate level and leverage that EnMS (and associated expertise) across its sites to maximize implementation efficiency and drive the portfolio toward company goals. We’ve heard of individual sites independently taking on energy management using ISO 50001 and achieving impressive savings, drawing the attention of senior management. And we’ve heard of organizations with multiple individual sites certified to ISO 50001, reflecting the outcomes of a broader corporate energy management strategy that supports individual facility action. 


In each case, organizations and sites are displaying agility and innovation while tackling challenges and creating solutions that fit. We welcome all ISO 50001 certified organizations to submit case studies for the award program, and look forward to learning more about the variety of approaches being used to drive value within the organization through ISO 50001.  


Guidance on developing your case study: Regardless of the path you choose, case studies should describe the strategy and decision for pursuing certification(s) and how it relates to a business, corporate, and/or site strategy.


For entries with multiple sites: 

  • If you choose to submit a case study that addresses a corporate energy management system with multiple sites included within the scope of the ISO 50001 certificate, the case study entered needs to cover the entire full scope of the certification.  
  • If you submit a case study describing ISO 50001 implementation and results for multiple sites, a copy of each relevant site’s ISO 50001 certificate is required. 
  • Quantitative results can be provided in aggregate, averaged, or separately by site (e.g., for the “Case Study Snapshot” box included in the Case Study Template, organizations can enter an aggregate, average, or several individual site results for the following fields: energy performance improvement, annual energy cost savings, cost to implement, and payback period). 
  • In the “Case Study Snapshot” box, a summary may be included for industry and location (e.g., 4 sites in Sweden, 2 sites in Korea, 3 sites in the United States). 
  • Photos of different sites may be included throughout the case study.


What does "accredited" certification body mean? Accredited by whom?


Certification bodies are accredited by Accreditation Bodies that are members of the International Accreditation Forum (IAF). The primary function of IAF is to “develop a single worldwide program of conformity assessment which reduces risk for business and its customers by assuring them that accredited certificates may be relied upon.” Accreditation ensures that the certification body has been independently evaluated against internationally recognized standards to conduct ISO 50001 audits with impartiality and competence. Accreditation provides confidence in certification outcomes.  


Organizations entering the awards program must have ISO 50001 certificates issued by an accredited certification body. Once organizations submit their entry and ISO 50001 certificate(s), the Secretariat will identify the body that accredited the certification body, determine if the accreditation body is an IAF member, and confirm that the certification body’s accreditation is current. If the certificate does not readily identify the accreditation body, the Coordinator may inquire further with the certification body to verify its accreditation status for ISO 50001, and whether the scope of accreditation covers the applicant’s country. 


View Accreditation Body members of IAF, listed by country.


Can I apply for an award if my organization participated in the 2016, 2017, or 2018 awards program?


Previous award recipients may enter the 2019 awards program if: 


  • the scope and boundaries of the EnMS have changed (e.g., an expanded scope from single facility to multiple or certification of a different facility within the organization) or 
  • after recertification to ISO 50001. 


The program does not accept re-entry of case studies that received awards from this program in past years (i.e., revised versions of case studies that address the same scope and boundaries and include the same ISO 50001 certificates). Organizations that have previously won an Award of Excellence in Energy Management are not eligible for the 2019 Award of Excellence, but are eligible to receive an Insight Award.


I have more questions about this Energy Management Leadership Awards competition.


Please carefully review the Official Rules and our Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ). For additional questions, contact the Award Administrator at When appropriate, the EMWG will share new questions (without attribution) and answers via email to organizations that requested updates and via clarifications added to this list of FAQs.


Participating countries