Skip to main content

Announcing the Winners of the 6th ISGAN Award of Excellence in ‘Digitalization Enabling Consumer Empowerment’

ISGAN Award of Excellence



Each year, in partnership with the Global Smart Energy Federation (GSEF), The International Smart Grid Action Network (ISGAN) presents the Annual ISGAN Award of Excellence (AoE) to recognize excellence in smart grid projects, policies and programs around the world. ISGAN brings together 25 countries from across five continents and the European Commission to advance the development and deployment of smarter, cleaner, and more flexible electricity grids around the world. The ISGAN Award of Excellence seeks to leverage leadership and innovation in smart grids to accelerate global exchange of best practice and promote replication or adaptation of proven concepts in other markets, countries, and regions. By providing a showcase for exemplars in the global smart grid community, the Award also draws attention to the value offered by smart grid systems.  

On September 16, 2020, ISGAN, in partnership with the Global Smart Energy Federation (GSEF), announced the winners of the sixth annual ISGAN Award of Excellence, during a special ceremony during the first ISGAN-PSF joint workshop on “A holistic approach to low emission energy systems through sector integration” at the Eleventh Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM11). Mr. KOYAMA Masaomi (Director of Ministry of Economy, Trade and Industry of Japan) presented the ISGAN Award to the winning projects. 

Theme for 2020

The 2020 ISGAN Award of Excellence recognizes exemplars in the field of smart grids with a special focus on “Digitalization Enabling Consumer Empowerment”.

Competition at a Glance

For the Sixth Annual ISGAN Award of Excellence competition, a wide range of smart grid project nominations were received, representing projects from 9 different countries throughout the world. The winning projects were selected by an independent, international jury of smart grid experts, led by Mr. Reji Pillai Kumar, Chair of the Global Smart Energy Federation (GSEF). The jury selected the winning projects based on the following five criteria: potential impact, innovation, consumer benefits & empowerments, economic rationale, potential for replication and adaptation.

Winning Projects

The following projects were selected as this year’s winning projects.