Skip to main content
x
Webinar

CEM webinars this February

There is a lot going on across CEM workstreams this month - check out all upcoming webinars and don't forget to register to participate!

 

  1. 18 February Tuesday – Clean Energy Solutions Center: REN 21 Presents: Renewables in Cities and Citizen Participation, 4:00 p.m. Johannesburg | 3:00 p.m. Paris | 2:00 p.m. London | 9:00 a.m. Washington

The Clean Energy Solutions Center, in partnership with REN21, will host this webinar on opportunities and roles for citizens to engage within their cities in the energy transition to renewables. City residents can contribute in many ways, including by choosing renewable energy tariffs, switching to green suppliers, and becoming prosumers by installing their own systems or by participating in one of the growing numbers of community energy projects emerging in and around urban areas.

Join us to discuss how citizens are driving the energy transition at the local level with renewables. REN21 will present the key findings of their newly released Renewables in Cities — Global Status Report, with a focus on citizen participation.

REGISTER HERE

  1. 19 February Wednesday - Clean Energy Solutions Center: Women Empowerment: Best Practices for the Sustainable Energy Sector, 3:00 p.m. Johannesburg | 2:00 p.m. Paris | 1:00 p.m. London | 8:00 a.m. Washington

The Global Women’s Network for the Energy Transition (GWNET) in partnership with the Clean Energy Solutions Center will host this webinar as the fourth in a six-part webinar series on Gender Equality for a More Rapid and Inclusive Energy Transition. The webinar will answer the question, what can we do to increase women’s employment in the sustainable energy sector? The presentation will examine:

  • How well women are currently integrated into the corporate sustainable energy sector
  • Obstacles women encounter
  • Recommendations—building on existing experiences and emerging best practice—that can be put forward to promote women’s participation on par with men’s in sustainable energy.

REGISTER HERE

  1. Regional and Global Energy Connection Initiative - inaugural Spring webinar: Building Stakeholder Consensus in Cross-Border Power Trade, February 26, 2020, 1200 GMT, with key note speaker: Edmund Downie.

Edmund will discuss his work as a Fulbright Scholar in China (2017-2018) and an energy markets analyst at Analysis Group (USA) today on the politics of cross-border power trade initiatives, describing how initiatives in Southeast Asia and North America have succeeded and failed in securing support across diverse stakeholder groups.

MEETING LINK

  1. ISGAN: The need to model coupled energy networks to transition to a decarbonized future, 27 February 2020, 14:00 - 15:00 CET

The coordination between planners and operators of coupled energy systems will allow the further integration of renewable energy sources in the electricity network by storing energy in fuel form over long periods of time using power-to-gas, the recovery and more efficient use of heat, and the decarbonization of industrial processes and transportation modes that can’t be electrified.

Energy networks, such as electricity grids and natural gas pipeline networks, have traditionally been planned and operated independently. In order to enhance the integration and coordination of different energy networks, they must be planned and operated in coupled ways. Different energy networks have historically been and are still modelled by different tools.

In this presentation we will discuss the need to model coupled energy systems in a single framework and we will introduce encoord’s Scenario Analysis Interface for Energy Systems (SAInt), a software application to model, plan, and operate coupled energy networks.

REGISTER HERE