CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards

Companies around the world use the ISO 50001 standard to achieve energy, economic, and sustainability benefits that boost competitiveness. The standard offers a business-friendly way to align corporate objectives with national climate and energy goals. To enter, organizations develop a structured case study showing how their energy management system delivers diverse benefits to their company, community, and country. Case studies will be shared online as an inspiration and resource for businesses, governments, and other organizations.

CEM Award of Excellence in Energy Management

The top entries will receive the prestigious Award of Excellence. This global award brings high-profile government recognition and media attention to organizations that transform the way they use energy. The award aims to acknowledge organizations of various sizes, types, sectors, and geographies.

National Energy Management Awards

Governments may decide to honor organizations submitting top entries from their countries.

Energy Management Insight Awards

All qualifying entries will be recognized for helping to build global insight on EnMS benefits.


  • Gain prestigious, global recognition for efficient energy management.
  • Demonstrate your clean energy leadership to investors, customers, and employees.
  • Affirm your organization’s leadership in a global gathering of energy ministers and high-level international organizations.

To Apply

The 2023 Energy Management Leadership Awards have closed and the selection process is now underway.

The Energy Management Leadership Awards is managed by Energetics Incorporated, which served as the awards administrator for the CEM’s former Energy Management Working Group (EMWG). The EMWG was launched in 2010 by the CEM and IPEEC and officially concluded its work in September 2020.

View the video: Celebrating the Success of Energy Management

National Energy Management Recognition

The following agencies have offered national awards in previous years. This page will be updated with programs that offer national awards in 2023.

Countries are recognizing ISO 50001 energy management leaders through the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards program or through national programs.

CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards – National awards:


Canada is partnering with the CEM to offer two national awards through the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards. A Canadian national award will be given to the highest scoring Canadian entry received through the global program – one for industrial manufacturers and one for commercial and institutional buildings. The award for industrial manufacturing entrants is presented through the Canadian Industry Partnership for Energy Conservation (CIPEC). For commercial and institutional buildings entrants, the award is presented through Natural Resources Canada.


South Africa offers an Energy Management Award in collaboration with the global CEM awards program.

1920px flag of the united states svg

The United Arab Emirates Ministry of Energy & Infrastructure is collaborating with the Clean Energy Ministerial to offer the UAE National Energy Management Award. The Award aims to praise and encourage efforts in applying energy management standards in the UAE, and it will recognize outstanding organizations that have successfully implemented ISO 50001 for energy management which will support in achieving the UAE’s National Demand Reduction Target of 40% by 2050

The United States is collaborating with the Clean Energy Ministerial to offer a national award to the highest performing U.S. entry received through the global program. This award will be presented through the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.

National Programs:


In Chile, the Ministry of Energy offers the Sello de Excelencia Energética, which recognizes organizations leading in energy management at the national level. The top distinction, Gold, honors Chilean organizations certified to ISO 50001 with at least two implemented energy efficiency (EE) measures. The initiative is administered by the Energy Sustainability Agency.