Skip to main content
Energy Management Leadership Awards banner

CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards


Companies around the world use the ISO 50001 standard to achieve energy, economic, and sustainability benefits that boost competitiveness. The standard offers a business-friendly way to align corporate objectives with national climate and energy goals. To enter, organizations develop a structured case study showing how their energy management system delivers diverse benefits to their company, community, and country.


CEM Award of Excellence in Energy Management

The winners will be honored at the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM10) to be held in Canada in May 2019. This global award brings high-profile government recognition and media attention.


National Energy Management Awards

Governments may decide to honor organizations submitting top entries from their countries.


Energy Management Insight Awards

All qualifying entries will be recognized for helping to build global insight on EnMS benefits.


Case studies will be shared online as an inspiration and resource for businesses, governments, and other organizations.



  • Gain prestigious, global recognition for efficient energy management.
  • Demonstrate your clean energy leadership to investors, customers, and employees.
  • Affirm your organization’s leadership in a global gathering of energy ministers and high-level international organizations.


Who Should Apply?

Any organization from around the world in the industrial, commercial, or public sector certified to ISO 50001. See details on eligibility.


To Apply

Please review the Official Rules for details on how to apply, rules, entry format, scoring, recognition, and more. Entries are due 31 January 2019.


This program is managed by CEM’s Energy Management Working Group, which includes energy ministry and delegate representatives from Argentina, Australia, Canada, Chile, China, Denmark, the European Commission, Germany, India, Indonesia, Japan, Mexico, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, Sweden, the Republic of Korea, United Arab Emirates, and the United States. The United Nations Industrial Development Organization (UNIDO) serves as the Operating Agent for the EMWG.

Participating countries