► Stay Connected

Energy Management Leadership Awards


The Clean Energy Ministerial congratulates the 2017 Award of Excellence in Energy Management winners:
     o Abu Dhabi National Oil Company
     o Arabian Cement Company, Ramliya Plant
     o Mutua Madrileña

The winners of this prestigious global award will be honored at the Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM8) meeting on June 8. This high-profile event will gather clean energy leaders and partners from around the world, including from the 24 governments active in CEM.


Clean Energy Ministerial Meeting
Beijing, China
6-8 June 2017

CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards

Organizations around the globe are using ISO 50001-certified energy management systems to achieve energy, economic, and sustainability benefits that boost competitiveness. ISO 50001 offers a transparent, business-friendly way to align corporate goals with national climate and energy goals. 

The CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards recognize those who are actively transforming their organizations and the world with ISO 50001. Share your organization’s experiences and inspire others to implement this winning strategy. 

Entries will be considered for several award categories:

CEM Award of Excellence in Energy Management: The top winners will be honored at the 2017 Clean Energy Ministerial (CEM8) in China. This global award brings high-profile government recognition and media attention.

National Energy Management Awards: Governments may honor organizations submitting top entries from their countries. View countries offering national awards.

Energy Management Insight Awards: All qualifying entries will be recognized for helping to build global insight on the benefits of energy management systems.

Who's Eligible?

Any organization with a current, third-party-verified ISO 50001 certificate is eligible to participate. Organizations may operate in the industrial, commercial, or public sector anywhere in the world.

To Apply:

Details for the 2018 Awards will be announced in the fall of 2017. 

Learn More:

These materials will be updated to include information about the 2018 Awards Program.

Energy Management Leadership Awards are organized by the Clean Energy Ministerial Energy Management Working Group.

National Energy Management Recognition

Countries are recognizing ISO 50001 energy management leaders through the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards program or through national programs. 

CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards - National awards:

Canada is partnering with the CEM to offer a national award through the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards.


south africa flag

South Africa is partnering with the CEM to offer a national award through the CEM Energy Management Leadership Awards. The national award is offered by the South African Association for Energy Efficiency (SAEE), supported by the South African National Energy Development Institute (SANEDI) and the National Cleaner Production Center (NCPC).

National Programs:

United States

The U.S. Department of Energy’s Superior Energy Performance (SEP) is a voluntary certification and recognition program for facilities demonstrating energy management excellence and sustained energy savings.  While SEP recognizes achievements nationally through SEP certification and SEP performance levels: Silver, Gold and Platinum, DOE encourages SEP certified facilities to participate in the CEM awards program for global energy management recognition.